greek to me

Standard

OK, I’ll stop with the cryptic posts and just let you know that I (Erin) am really diving into this whole blogging things. In my quest to find a hobby that gives me a little break from laundry, class, diapers, and baby talk, I have decided that I wanted to move from having WordPress host my blog, to hosting one myself. The theory behind this brilliant thought is that I will be able to be much more creative with WillBeContinued, including a new design (happiness!), media, and so on.

However . . .

I forgot that in order to truly be in control of your own site you have to learn a new language…HTML. I know a little bit about this code thing from (giggle) playing around with my MySpace profile, but this blog/website thing is much more in depth.

Enter my plea for help (from those of you who were once in my shoes):

-I want to transfer ALL my posts from our old site to the new one. Does anyone know of a SUREFIRE way of breaking down the old blog file? We’ve tried a couple of different "file-splitting" programs that have only worked halfway (which is weird). And our previous blog posts well exceed the 2mg max. import allowance.

-There is ONE simple (well, I think it should be simple) change I want to make to the existing new blog. Is there a HTML "tutor" out there for those of us who are just starting out?

Thank you all for reading. This little family blog is continuing to grow, and for some reason, people keep comin’ back for more (pretty sure its Abby). Looking forward to sharing more from the Williams Fam!

5 responses »

  1. EXCUSE MY IGNORANCE, BUT IS THIS THE BIG SURPRISE?????? DON’T UNDERSTAND A WORD!..SO YOU CAN SURE BET I WON’T BE ABLE TO HELP YOU!

    BUT, I THINK YOU LIVE WITH SOMEONE THAT KINDA KNOWS A LITTLE ABOUT PUTERS….!!! NO? OKAY, THEN TRY JOSH!..

    XOXOXOXO

  2. I wish I could help you Erin! Heck, I’m still trying to figure out how to load our flickr account and photos onto my own blog! I don’t even know how to work wordpress. Good luck to you!

Leave a Reply

